The Teams

Following on from the introductory post, here is a little fact file on each of the teams that can be selected…


Deportes Antofagasta

Founded in 1966 following the merger of two amateur clubs, Antofagasta (rather unsurprisingly) play in the city of Antofagasta. The club play their home games at the 21,000 seat Estadio Regional de Antofagasta and have never won the top title in Chile. Their kits are like Blackburn’s with the blue and white square design. Manager Gustavo Huerta led them to 13th place in the Torneo de Transición this past May but possessed one of the joint top goalscorers in the league – Argentinian Javier Elizondo with 14.


Audax Italiano

Based in the La Florida area of Santiago, Audax were formed in 1910 and have spent a remarkable 62 seasons in the top flight. The 4 time champions have not won a title since 1957 and only made their first appearance in continental competition in 2007. They play in green and at the 12,000 seat Estadio Municipal de La Florida. Finished in 14th place in the Torneo de Transición and had the other joint top scorer in the league – another Argentine, Sebastian Saez.



A relative newcomer in Chilean football, Cobreloa were only formed in 1977 but have established themselves as one of the most competitive teams in the country. The 8 time champions play at Estadio Municipal de Calama in the city of Calama which holds 13,000 people. Their kits are a striking orange  and they most recently finished 3rd in the Torneo de Transición.



Another relative newcomer, Cobresal were formed in 1979 as an amateur club. They are based in El Salvador in the Atacama region of Chile, which is a small mining village of around 7,000 but the club play at a stadium (Estadio El Cobre) that holds almost 3 times the amount of people in the village. Cobresal have never won the title but have appeared in the Copa Libertadores once in 1986. Most recently finished last in Torneo de Transición and avoided relegation by defeating Curico Unido in a play-off.



Undoubtedly the most successful and famous club side in Chile, Colo-Colo have an enviable list or achievements. 29 league titles, ten Copa Chile wins and a Copa Libertadores win as well as the amazing record of having never been relegated from the the top division. Finished a disappointing 10th in the Torneo de Transición.



Named after English side Everton, the team are 4 time champions of Chile with their last win in 2008. Based in the city of Viña del Mar, they play at the 18,000 seat Estadio Sausalito in the city. Finished 6th in the 2013 Torneo de Transición.



Huachipato the football team are just one part of a multisports club from the city of Talcahuano. They are two time title winners with their last coming last year. They play their games at Estadio CAP, a 10,500 all-seated stadium. Finished 15th in the 2013 Torneo de Transición.



Formed in 1978, Iquique are based in the city of, you guessed it, Iquique. They have never been title winners and, like Manchester City and Coventry, wear sky blue kits. Their stadium, Tierra de Campeones Stadium, has a capacity of 12,000. Finished 16th in the Torneo de Transición.



Formed in 1916, Ñublense (from the city of Chillán) only turned professional in 1959. However, in that time they have experienced highs and lows. They have qualified for the Sudamericana recently but were 30 seconds from being relegated to the fourth tier of Chilean football in 2001. They have never won the top title in Chile but do have a nice, new stadium in the Estadio Municipal Nelson Oyarzún Arenas. They finished 12th in the Torneo de Transición.



Based in Rancagua, O’Higgins FC is named after Chile’s founding father, the wonderfully named Bernardo O’Higgins. They have developed into title challengers in recent years but have never won one. They play at the 14,000 seat Estadio Parque El Teniente and finished 4th in the 2013 Torneo de Transición.



Palestino were formed by Palestinian immigrants in 1920 and are based in the Chilean capital Santiago. They are 2 time Chilean champions with their last title success having come in 1978. They play in the Estadio Municipal de La Cisterna and their colours are a reference to the club’s Palestinian heritage. They finished 11th in the 2013 Torneo de Transición.



Formed in 1902, Rangers name was influenced by a one of its founders who was a Scotsman. However, unlike the Scottish side, they play in red and black rather than blue. The club plays in the city of Talca at the Estadio Fiscal. They most recently finished 8th in the Torneo de Transición.


Santiago Wanderers

Santiago Wanderers are Chile’s oldest football club with the the club having formed in 1892. Strangely, as well, the team are not based in Santiago but rather the city Valparaíso. They are 3 Chilean champions with their last title win being in 2001. Playing in the Estadio Regional Chiledeportes, Wanderers finished 9th in the Torneo de Transición.


Union Espanola

The 2013 Torneo de Transición champions (by goal difference), Unión Española were formed in 1897 by Spanish immigrants. They are one of the most successful teams in Chilean football with 7 title wins and playing in all but two seasons of the top division in their history. Based in the Independencia area of Santiago, the club plays at Estadio Santa Laura-Universidad SEK.


Union La Calera

Formed in 1954 by the merger of 5 clubs, Unión La Calera is based in La Calera. The club has never been champions of Chile and plays in all red. They play at Estadio Municipal Nicolás Chahuán. They finished 7th in the Torneo de Transición.


Universidad Catolica

One of the “big three” in Chile, Católica are another team in the capital, Santiago. Founded in 1937, the club plays at the Estadio San Carlos de Apoquindo. They are 10 time champions of Chile (the last one in 2010) and only missed out on another in the 2013 Torneo de Transición by goal difference.


Universidad de Chile

Another Santiago club, “La U” are 16 time champions of Chile putting them only behind Colo-Colo in that respect and has also produced some great Chilean players like Marcelo Salas. The team plays at Estadio Nacional Ñuñoa and was 5th in the Torneo de Transición.


Universidad de Concepcion

The youngest team in the league, Concepción were formed in 1994 and quickly rose up the leagues to the top division in 2003. They play their home games at Estadio Municipal Concepción and were recently promoted at the expense of San Marcos.

There is a quick breakdown on each team. Vote below or you can tweet me as well. Stay tuned for more from this series.



One thought on “The Teams

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s